Coping with loss

Once again I find myself make sorry excuses for not blogging – although since the time has been spent with my family and getting the first draft of my story finished then something had to give (OK it could have been the xbox, but a mans got to do etc!)

Anyway, I find myself with a problem and I am turning to you good people to offer advice and guidance.

There is a somber atmosphere hanging over me at the moment as I now know that I need to kill someone – quickly adding (before internet security type things have police knocking on my door!) that this person only exists in the pages of my book.

The person to be killed is not a major character, so it isn’t as if I know them as well as others, but their death will affect characters I am closer to and I don’t want them to be resentful of me. This character is also not a ‘baddy’ (as my youngest would put it) so their death is a decision I have made to develop the plot – not something that the laws of fiction say must happen. Plus, and this is just a minor point, I haven’t actually ever killed someone before so this level of planning is somewhat unnerving.

So dear reader, any words of advice (or encouragement if you’re that way inclined) – guess this post is just a delaying tactic.

OK the kettle has boiled, there is death to be dealt….

6 Comments

Filed under Just for fun, News

6 responses to “Coping with loss

  1. If it’s integral to the plot then dream up 3 diff scenarios and choose the one that feels ‘best’.
    I just mean white board or doodle or pencil/paper scenarios, not full fledged chapter with great dialoge, etc. Just enough to get the feel for how it would happen.
    Ok, it’s happened like ‘this’. How do my characters feel about as/when it happened and also it going forward.
    If it has a big affect on one or more characters then I’d expect significant wordage around the death and it’s consequences.
    If it has a small afftect, I’d expect a short section, maybe almost none about the death but rather more about it’s affect.
    Hope this gives you more to think about.
    Gary

  2. Hi James
    I’m so sorry to hear that. I killed off a main character in one of my books and I cried through the whole scene and continue to cry during revisions, and people have asked me why, but it had to be done. So my advice: have a big box of tissues handy. Good luck 🙂

  3. gelakel

    I’m busy killing people off too. It has to be done! It is strange, though, how you start to feel about your characters.

    Karen, if that’s the character I’m thinking about then I almost cried too!! 😦

Leave a Reply

